Housing/Property Market for Expats

• Housing/Property Market for Expats

Posted by Edward Fernandez on November 26, 2019 at 8:49 am

Hello, 

I am an expat planning to move to Penang. I am looking forward to buying a property for my family and me to settle in as well as maybe one to rent out as a source of passive income. Are there any special restrictions as to what kind of properties can expats purchase or is it free-game to anyone who has the cash? I know Penang is very multicultural – have been there with my family a couple of times but are there any other aspects that I should take into consideration when settling in Penang? Much appreciated. 

Tony Looi replied 4 years, 7 months ago 4 Members · 3 Replies
  • 3 Replies
  • Fatin

November 27, 2019 at 6:36 am

Hello Edward,

I am not an expert but I made some quick google searches and found this: 

“Requirement by Penang state consent. Foreigners or non-Malaysian will only be allowed to buy condo priced above RM1 million and for landed properties priced RM3 million and above.”

However, Malaysia has also introduced the Malaysia My 2nd Home Program (MM2H). I found this statement, 

“MM2H participants can buy up to 2 units below RM500,000 with good reason & letter of support from the Tourism Ministry.” 

Foreign purchasers are also required to “apply state consent and pay 1.5% to 3% levy fee based on the purchase price after signing the sales and purchase agreement. It normally takes 6 weeks to 8 weeks for the state approval consent.

The following particulars are necessary for the preparation of legal documentations:

1. Copy of passport(s) – owner and co-owner(s), if any

2. Correspondence address

3. Contact – house telephone no, mobile no, office no, e-mail address”

Google “penangproperties[.]com” and you will be guided to the same resources that I just shared with you.